Rowan Radio Earns Five Communicator Awards


The Academy of Interactive and Visual Arts honored Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM with five Communicator Awards in the organization’s annual competition.

Bernie Sanders Supporters Still Feeling the Burn won two Communicator Awards of Distinction in the News and News Production categories.

Produced by Matthew Zawodniak, the piece tracked disappointed followers of politician Bernie Sanders at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. The win marks the fourth award for the segment, which was previously honored in the Hermes Creative Awards competition and by Broadcast Education Association.

Decision 2016 nabbed its fifth award this year by winning an Award of Distinction for News Production.

Zawodniak, Alyssa Compa, Kelly Green, and Geneva Gerwitz interviewed politicians, protesters, and activists at last July’s Democratic National Convention for their take on the 2016 presidential election. Also, the program included discussions with Rowan University students about their takes voting for Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton.

Taking Strides achieved Award of Distinction status in the News Program section. The documentary featured producers Cody Cronin, Austin Greathouse, and Matthew Gundersen taking an in-depth look at the career of former Rowan University Football star running back Wit Marcelin.

Overshare earned an Award of Distinction in the News Program category. During a 30-minute documentary, producers Emily Langford, Alyssa Colangelo, and John Rogers interviewed several young adults about privacy and their struggles with using social media platforms.

Both Overshare and Taking Strides were produced in conjunction with Rowan University’s Radio Production course instructed by WGLS-FM Station Manager Derek Jones.

Judged by the Academy of Interactive and Visual Arts competition, the 23rd annual Communicator Awards saluted the best in traditional and interactive media. This year’s competition included 6,000 entries from around the world.

Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM has won 284 regional and national awards since 1993.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s