Five Questions With…Sarah Kalvaitis

13873029_1391850880843326_1630231735549368111_nFive Questions With… visits English and Communication Studies major Sarah Kalvaitis, who discusses her love of dogs and Shakespeare.

1. Why did you choose Rowan University?

SK: I originally did not want to come to Rowan because it was too close to home and I thought that my mom would come visit me every weekend, but I ultimately did come here because I realized that it had everything I was looking for in a school—great majors and programs, tons of clubs and organizations to join and get involved in, and the location because we are so close to Philly and who doesn’t love having the Yogo Factory as your next door neighbor? (P.S. – She doesn’t visit me.)

2. Why did you want to join Rowan Radio?

SK: I joined Rowan Radio in spring 2015, which was my sophomore year.  I’ve always had an interest in radio but that’s not my major so I felt weird, until two of my best and first friends at Rowan, Cody and Darren (who were WGLS members) finally convinced me to join.  Now I’ve been a member for about two years and actually do the Early Bird Special with Cody!  I’m really grateful that I did because I’ve made and built so many relationships with other station members that I know will continue even after graduation.

3. What’s your favorite movie?

SK: It’s impossible to pick a favorite movie, but hands down Jessica Jones is my favorite TV show.  If you haven’t seen it yet, what are you doing?  Stop reading this and go watch it right now!

4. What’s the last book you read?

SK: The last book I read for fun was Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.  It actually just became a movie too.  Definitely recommend it!

5. You can have dinner with three people dead or alive. Who are they? 

SK: I would have dinner with Shakespeare because he is still such an influential man and I’ve read almost every single one of his plays because I may or may not have a seven-pound book that contains all of them (I swear I’m not as weird as I just sounded).

My second choice would be my Grandmom because she was my best friend and truly got me like no one else has and she could make the GREATEST meatballs out there…even Shakespeare would be impressed.

Third would have to be my dog because, let’s be real, dogs are way better than people! Plus they’re always happy to see you when you get home, would never complain about the food being served, and would be perfect to cuddle with after dinner is over!

Sarah Kalvaitis co-hosts the Early Bird Special with Cody Cronin every Thursday from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. on Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM and wgls.rowan.edu

Leave a Reply

