Five Questions With…Mike Delayo

delayo

Rowan Radio’s next stop on our Five Questions With… journey is with WGLS-FM Sports Director Mike Delayo.

1. Why did you choose Rowan University?

MD: Rowan made sense for me because it was close to home, but not too close to home. The student population is fairly high, but I can still walk across campus, which is especially important for me since I do not drive. Having the world’s best cheesesteaks within reach 24/7 also doesn’t hurt.

2. Why did you want to join Rowan Radio?

MD: I first heard of the station during an interest meeting in my first semester. I visited there with no real intention of joining, but I had always been a fan of listening to and watching sports broadcasts. A station member who has since graduated spoke about his experience working with the Wilmington Blue Rocks minor league baseball team, and that really caught my attention. I have not actually worked with the Blue Rocks in my time at the station, but the prospect of doing so was appealing enough at the time to get my foot into the door.

3. What’s your favorite movie?

MD: This is the hardest question I have ever answered, and I am furious with myself for not having an answer ready. To ease the pain of picking just one, I’ll provide a top three:

Third Favorite – Top Gun (which is without question my desert island movie)

Second – Dead Poets Society (which is forever locked in a Robin Williams-driven back-and-forth with Good Will Hunting)

First – Whiplash

4. What’s the last book you read?

MD: The last book I completed was Incredible Baseball Stats by Kevin Reavy and Ryan Spaeder. I’m currently reading David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest.

5. You can have dinner with three people dead or alive. Who are they? 

MD: Bill Simmons would have to be at the table. His work in media over the last decade has provided me with hours upon hours of quality multimedia content that continues to entertain and inspire me. Plus, he knows how to sustain a conversation, which would be quite useful at the table.

Robin Williams would be able to contribute to any topic of conversation in a glorious, delightful way. His presence on screen has always made me smile, and I imagine having him at the table would bear similar results.

The fourth member of this dinner party would be Shigeru Miyamoto, whose work with Nintendo over the years has impacted my life in ways I never would have thought possible the first time I powered up my old Game Boy Color. His revolutionary mind and kindheartedness would be a welcome addition to the table.

You can check out Mike Delayo every Friday as a part of the Rowan Radio Sports block on the Rowan Sports Review and Offsides from 5-6 p.m.

Leave a Reply

