Jade Lilitri of Oso Oso discusses debut album and U.S. Tour

OsoOsoOso Oso is an up and coming alternative rock band from Long Beach, New York. Having just finished an East Coast tour with The Hotelier, front man Jade Lilitri takes a moment to answer questions from Rowan Radio’s Kelly Green regarding the tour and their debut album, Real Stories of True People Who Kind of Looked Like Monsters.

How did Oso Oso become a band?

JL: Basically Oso Oso became/is still becoming a band. I’ve been writing songs for 9-10 years now; it’s just a part of me. My old band broke up and I had a bunch of songs and I felt like I needed to make a record. So in short, I did. And now we’re just trying to tour it as much as possible, and get as many people as possible to hear it.

How long have you been playing together?

JL: Oso started playing shows in November 2014, so we’re only coming up on a year. But in that short amount of time, I think there has been about 8-10 different lineup incarnations. We’re still trying to solidify a permanent lineup and get the right chemistry. Just about everybody who’s played shows with Oso is somebody I know from playing music with at some point in time.

How would you describe your sound?

JL: I’m not too sure. The first word everybody tends to reach for is “poppy”, and that’s definitely something that is done in our music intentionally, so that’s cool.

Have any other artists influenced your music? If so, who?

JL: It probably sounds kinda cheesy but I truly feel influenced/inspired by art every day. I can be waiting in a doctor’s office and see a painting I like and just start manifesting some story from it or whatever that could end up into a song. Or I could just be sitting in the car listening to the radio and really enjoy a part in a song and be like “Whoa, that was a cool idea” and it’ll push me to strive for some fresh ideas in whatever we’re doing at the moment.

Do you have any pre-show rituals?

JL: We actually do some intense aroma therapy pre-show ritual that I don’t want to get too deep into right now, but it’s definitely interesting and if you want to ever talk to one of us in person about it, we’ll tell ya all about it!

What has it been like to be on tour with The Hotelier?

JL: Super cool. Super motivating. Super inspiring. Super humbling. Super cool. Super fun.

Do you have a favorite memory from the tour so far?

JL: The great ice war of Somerville ’15.

If you guys could share the stage with any artist in the world, who would it be?

JL: It absolutely will never happen but I truly want to open up for Paramore so bad.

Do you have a favorite track off the record?

JL: (It) definitely changes every day for different or whatever reasons. Right now it’s probably “Wet Grass or Cold Cement” just because it’s super fun to play live.

What inspired the band name?

JL: “Oso” is the Spanish word for bear. I’m obsessed with bears. I also thought it was cute how it sounded like saying “oh so, oh so”.

Can we expect any new music from Oso soon?

JL: Not a full length for a little bit. We want to tour and make sure enough people have heard this one, but I’m confident we’ll put out a song or two in 2016.

Leave a Reply

