Five Questions With…

Melissa Friend, Rowan Radio News Director

Melissa Friend, Rowan Radio News Director

Name: Melissa Friend
Major: Radio/Television/Film
Year: Senior
Hometown: Runnemede, NJ

Time to continue our look at Rowan Radio’s Executive Staff with WGLS-FM News Director Melissa Friend!

1. What is your favorite Rowan Radio memory:

MF: My favorite Rowan Radio memory would have to be becoming News Director honestly I joined the station not even considering applying for an executive staff position, but one day when I was talking to Derek about it, he told me just to go for it. I’m really glad I did though, because I’ve got a great experience out of it, and i’ve made a lot of friends. I never expected to become apart of the executive staff after my first year at Rowan and that’s just something I’ll never forget.

2. Why did you get involved with Rowan Radio?

MF: I got involved with Rowan Radio because I was involved with the radio station at Camden County College and I really liked it. I read about it online when I was in the process of applying to Rowan and it all seemed so interesting. On my first day at Rowan, I actually approached the Student Station Manager at the time, John Salvatore, in a non-creepy way I hope, and asked him how I could join Rowan Radio.

3. What goals do you have for the upcoming school year?

MF: I’d like to get all A’s at least once before I graduate, but other than that I’d like to take on a couple of internships to get more experience so I can make my resume prettier.

4. If you could change one event in world history, what would it be?

MF: I don’t really know what I’d change. I’ve always been told that everything happens for a reason. I know its cliche and and all, but it’s the truth and we learn from our mistakes.

5. What are your plans after Rowan?

MF: My plans after Rowan consist of getting my big girl job, moving out, and going to Disney World about 10 more times. As long as I’m successful, I’ll be a happy camper!

You can hear Melissa Friend every Tuesday at 5 pm for the Rowan Report, and Wednesday mornings 9 am-11am only here on Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM!

Leave a Reply

