Five Questions With…

JB

Rowan junior Jackson Baird heads up WGLS-FM’s public affairs department.

Name: Jackson Baird
Major: Writing Arts
Year: Junior
Hometown: Rockaway, NJ

Rowan Radio’s Public Affairs Director Jackson Baird heads under the spotlight in our latest installment of Five Questions With…

1. What is your favorite Rowan Radio memory?

JB: My favorite Rowan Radio memory has to be the end-of-year banquet the station held last spring. It was held at such a beautiful venue (Scotland Run), we had great food, and of course, having the radio station family there was just fantastic. We said goodbye to many graduation seniors that night (most of them good friends of mine), and it was a fitting way to send them off.

2. Why did you get involved with Rowan Radio?

JB: I got involved in Rowan Radio because I’ve always admired the radio industry. Growing up in Northern NJ and being a huge sports fan, I was always listening to WFAN sports radio out of New York. I fell in love with the sports talk genre, and joined the station to try to break into the business. Unfortunately, Rowan Radio does not have any sports talk programs, but no matter. There are plenty other programs here at the station that I love being a part of.

3. What goals do you have for the upcoming school year?

JB: My goal for this coming year is simple: Be the best at anything I will do. For the most part, I have two main responsibilities: Being a student, and being an active member of WGLS. Therefore, my main focus for this coming year will be to go for straight A’s in the classroom, and to serve our community and continue bringing a good name to WGLS and the position of Public Affairs Director.

4. If you could change one event in world history, what would it be?

JB: There are plenty of events in world history I would like to change, such as the Holocaust and the institution of slavery. Any one of those horrific instances of human suffering will do.

5. What are your plans after Rowan?

JB: I don’t have any specific plans for after Rowan just yet. In general, I would love to continue to work in the radio industry, although in this job market, I’ll take whatever I can get.

Baird is the host of A Community Affair on Mondays at 5 p.m. and Spanning the Ages every Wednesday from 9-11 p.m. 

Leave a Reply

