Casting WGLS: The Movie

Waldy Diez and Joe Mineo...who would play them in a movie?

Waldy Diez and Joe Mineo prepare for The Rowan Report. Who would play them in a WGLS-based movie?

Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM is typically entrenched in all things radio. However, with the 85th annual Academy Awards looming in a few weeks, station members took time out to answer a movie-related question.

“Who would play you in a movie about Rowan Radio?”

Dianna Califri, Promotions Director, co-host of the Tuesday Early Bird Special  “I would have to say I would want Emma Watson to play me.  I had the hardest time figuring this out, I must of asked ten station members what they thought.  I went with Emma Watson because of what I have seen of her in films.  In Harry Potter she was a very organized OCD know it all, which at time I know I can be, but then in Perks of Being a Wallflower she was this kooky bubbly girl who is always smiling.  And anyone who knows me knows I can be very goofy.  Plus Emma Watson is very pretty and hey who doesn’t want to be played by someone good looking?  So she is an actress who I think can be very serious when she needs to be but also knows when its time to just relax and goof off.”

Rob Cunningham, Sports Director, host of the Rowan Sports Review – “Leonardo DiCaprio because he’s a great actor and he’s a handsome man, much like myself.”

Mike DeMora, co host of the Thursday Early Bird Special – “I would have to say Seth Rogen. People say I resemble him with my sense of humor and once in a while I can pull off his looks.”

Waldy Diez, News Director, host of The Rowan Report: I would want Emma Watson to play me.  She seems like a genuinely kindhearted person, and she can have fun, at least, that’s what it looked like in The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  People are always telling me I’m too adorable for my own good, and I feel the same way about Miss Watson.  I think it would be a fun choice.” 

Ellen Hardy, Assistant Promotions Director, host of The Sunday Matinee – “I would be absolutely honored if I was played by the amazing Felicia Day. Her acting talents are on full display in multiple films and TV shows; including one of my favorite shows of all time, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She has written, produced and acted in her own internet web series called The Guild and starred beside both Neil Patrick Harris and Nathan Fillion in Joss Whedon’s award winning Internet musical, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. Trust me, it’s awesome! That’s not even scratching the surface of reasons why I want her to play me. First off, much like myself, she’s seven kinds of awesome. Not only that, but she is the perfect combination of all things geeky and fabulous. At first I couldn’t think of who I’d like to play me, but then I remembered my favorite quirky red head. What really sealed the deal though, was when I re-watched her first appearance on Supernatural as Charlie Bradbury. As I watched her dance around in her Princess Leia T-shirt and over-sized head phones to Walking on Sunshine in the middle of a glass elevator, I knew there was no one else that can do me as much justice as she could.”

Kenneth Hicks, Rock Director – “I would cast Donald Glover to play me in a WGLS movie because A) he’s a very funny comedian who has appeared in three of my current favorite TV shows and B) he can grow a really nice afro when he feels like it.”

Derek Jones, Interim Station Manager – “Will Smith. He is extremely versatile. Just in case there is a flashback scene from my mustache days, he could pull that off too.” 

Leo Kirschner, Interim Assistant Station Manager – “I want Matthew Perry from “Friends” to portray me because of his wit and charm. Or perhaps I want Jason Bateman from “Arrested Development” to portray me because of his looks and confidence. But unfortunately, I will most likely be portrayed by the actor who plays Leonard in “The Big Bang Theory” because of the name and glasses!”

Gina Lemanowicz Pusloski, host of The Women’s Room and Sunday Sounds of Music – “Megan Hilty (Smash). She knows musicals but more importantly, Broadway.”

Nick Lopes, DJ, host of the Tuesday night Microgroove – “Well I’ve been told by a few people that I remind them of Michael Cera. I think I’m more like a Burt Reynolds though. Or Bruce Lee. Definitely if Bruce Lee, Burt Reynolds and Michael Cera got together… that’d be me.” 

Chelsea Mettinger, DJ, Monday mornings from 9-11 – “Zooey Deschanel, for sure because she’s awesome, like me, wears pretty dresses and people say we look alike!”

Joe Mineo, Production Director,  host of The Student-Athlete Rock Show – “I’d probably go with Adam Brody, my celebrity doppelganger. I feel like he could capture my unique work ethic and my intense focus behind the board making promos, as well as deliver my corny sense of humor perfectly. I hear he also likes obscure alternative rock, so that’s another big reason.”

Benny Panella, host of the Monday night Microgroove and co-host of the Thursday Early Bird Special – “David Spade. Most of the time when I’m not on air I’m pulling a prank or annoying Derek Jones and David Spade pulls the same stuff in a lot of the movies he does so I think together we are one of the same….unfortunately, ha.”

Tyler Mulvey, Assistant Public Affairs Director, co-host of the Monday Early Bird Special – “Although my girlfriend will deny it, ONE TIME she told me while we were watching 21 Jump Street that Channing Tatum and I look alike. Yes- that Channing Tatum. I like to bring this up, especially in front of people, and she denies denies denies. But I’m telling you- she said it once. Besides Channing, I guess James Franco. I’ve gotten him a couple times.”  

John Salvatore, Student Station Manager, co-host of the Wednesday Early Bird Special – “I would cast myself as Ed Helms. I have been told that we look and act alike. He would be a good fit and be able to handle the responsibility of portraying me.”

Allie Volpe, Operations Manager, host of The Indie Fix on Tuesday nights – “Emma Stone. I have the biggest girl crush on her (every time I see Easy A on TV, I feel obligated to watch). I even dyed my hair red because of her. I could go in much creepier detail about my love of her, but I’d like to maintain my dignity.”

Ryan Whitenack, Assistant News Director – “Jack McBrayer (Kenneth on 30 Rock). We both can be super awkward and we even look a little alike!”

3 thoughts on “Casting WGLS: The Movie

  1. Pacino as Pepper…..the right age, the right look, a child of the 60s, and the perfect way to celebrate my 44th year at WGLS.

Leave a Reply

