Five Questions With…

JoeIt’s time to get to know some of the voices behind Rowan Radio by meeting members of WGLS-FM’s Executive Staff.

Name: Joe Mineo

Hometown: Sewell, NJ

Major: Radio, Television, Film

Position: Production Director

Previous Position: Daytime Director

1. Why did you join Rowan Radio? 

JM: I wanted to be involved in something other than athletics, and I love being around people who love music as much as I do.

2. Your favorite Rowan Radio memory? 

JM: Singing alongside Allie Volpe to Kanye West and Jay-Z at the 2012 Rowan Radio Banquet. Classy stuff.

3. Favorite non-Rowan Radio related activity? 

JM: Track and Field. I’ve been competing in the high jump since my sophomore year of high school, and I pour my heart and soul into it. It’s really taught me how to be a leader, to have patience and discipline, to work hard, and to overcome adversity. It’s the perfect life metaphor as well – set the bar high and never give up until you clear it.

4. What advice would you give future station members? 

JM: Open your mind, accept criticism of all kinds, and don’t be afraid to ask questions.

5. If you’re trapped on a deserted island, what three things are you bringing? A cell phone is not allowed.

JM:  I would bring a knife – for getting food, making shelter; a soccer ball – to keep me from getting bored, and when all hope is lost, to be my friend. (Think Wilson from Cast Away, only I would NEVER let my friend wash away in the ocean.) Finally, I would bring a guitar, since I’d have all the time in the world to learn how to play awesome and entertain me and my buddy the soccer ball while we wait for help.

Leave a Reply

